Young Musician of The Year Grand Final

The evening of Tuesday June 20th saw the Chapel host the Grand Final of the Wrekin Young Musician of the Year competition that has been running throughout the year.

The seven qualifiers from the five preliminary rounds all entertained a most appreciative audience and it was Henry Phillips (piano) who was declared the winner by the adjudicator, Mr Glyn Wilkes, for his performance of Grieg and Chopin. Emma Arundell (tenor saxophone) was the runner-up and third Place was shared between Atahan Camlibel (piano) and Ellie Thornton (voice).

The other finalists were Thomas Luton (recorder), Oliver Stott (trumpet) and Jonathan So (violin) all of whom played wonderfully well. 

Simon Platford