Wrekin College


The motto for the Chemistry department is “prepare to be amazed, challenged and inspired”.

In order to achieve this we have three dedicated, experienced and enthusiastic teaching staff and a highly qualified technician. The needs of individual pupils are paramount and teaching strategies are tailored to encourage pupils to achieve to the best of their ability in this challenging and diverse subject. One member of staff is a public examiner, who provides first-hand knowledge and experience of the requirements of the exam boards. Laboratories are equipped to a high standard with all the equipment needed, as well as a large collection of reference books which are available for the use of staff and senior pupils.

In the First to Third Forms we aim to stimulate an interest in and enjoyment of chemistry and at GCSE and Sixth Form level there is a strong emphasis on independent learning and acquiring a deeper understanding of chemistry than that necessary for simply passing examinations.


Head of Department Tony Ware BSc St Andrew's University
  Harry Gray BSc University of Sheffield
  Ewa Perry  BSc Heriot-Watt University
  Anne Wedge BSc University of Liverpool
  Diane Van Dongen BSc University of Bedfordshire

Full details of the curriculum are available in the GCSE and Sixth Form Curriculum guides.